top of page

Chakras: Simple explanation of the Chakra System

Updated: Dec 18, 2022

The word Chakra in Sanskrit means ‘’Disk’’ or ‘’Wheel’’ referring to the energy centres of the body. These energy point are closely connected with major organs and the nervous system.

In order for the body and the energy body to work together, and function at its best, all of the main 7 chakra points need to stay open and balanced and energy must flow through each fluently.

There are 7 main energy points on the human body, but there are at least 114 energy points according to Sanskrit scriptures and modern science.

The Main 7 Chakra points

Root Chakra

Sanskrit: Muladhara

The Root Chakra which is located on the bottom of the spine is responsible for feeling secure and stable, the Root Chakra is related too feeling grounded and having a strong foundation to provide strength to withstand challenges you may encounter in life.

Governed Organs: Adrenal Glands, Colon, Kidneys, Skeleton/Bones, Muscles, and Arterial Blood that flows through the left chamber of the heart. Carrying Oxygen and Nutrients to the Body Tissue.

Sacral Chakra

Sanskrit: Svadhisthana

Sacral Chakra located on the lower abdomen is responsible for one's creativity and sexual energy. It plays an active role in our expression of sexual needs and desires.

Governed Organs: Reproductive Organs, Lower GI Tract and the lowest part of the spine

Solar Plexus Chakra

Sanskrit: Manipura

Solar Plexus Chakra located on the upper abdomen is responsible for one’s confidence, self esteem or self worth. It also governs freedom of choice, identity and authenticity. Closely relates to the guts emotional brain and stored emotions.

Governed Organs: Digestive System and respective organs

Heart Chakra

Sanskrit: Anahata

Heart Chakra located on the heart, is responsible for showing compassion, empathy, forgiveness and ability to love. This Chakra governs how you relate to people and you handle friendships/relationships.

Governed Organs: Thymus Gland and the Circulatory System, Lungs, Shoulders and Upper Back.

Throat Chakra

Sanskrit: Vishudda

Throat Chakra located on the throat, is responsible for our ability to communicate with others and ourselves. Its the source of our self expression, creativity- it enables us to speak our truth.

Governed Organs: Mouth, Jaw, Neck, Throat, Thyroid Gland.

Third Eye Chakra

Sanskrit: Ajna

Third Eye Charka located between the eyes is responsible for our spiritual contemplation, self reflection, gut instinct, intuition, determines one’s reality, and how one chooses to see the world. Also governs wisdom.

Governed organs: Pituitary Gland, Autonomic Nervous System

Crown Chakra

Sanskrit: Sahasrara

Crown Chakra is located at the top of the head, is responsible for your role in the universe, it connects you to the entire universe. It plays a crucial role in governing your purpose in life. Connection to spirituality.

Governed organs: Pineal Gland, Central Nervous System.

What happens if a Chakra is blocked or unbalanced?

When a Chakra is blocked or unbalanced a person might feel the effects in form of physical or mental illness. Dr. Diane Malaspina PhD, explains that she prefers to think of chakras as out of balance versus blocked.

“There can be a depletion of energy flow or too much energetic activity in a chakra — each will manifest into different outcomes,” she says.

When a chakra is unbalanced or low in energy one may have difficulties expressing the dominant features of that Chakra, for instance the Throat Chakra, if this Chakra is unbalanced you may have difficulties expressing your feelings or struggle with communication In general.

If the Chakra is blocked all together, it may cause a person to suffer from depression, insecurities or self esteem, depending on the Chakra, or in the case of the Throat Chakra to over communicate, being rude or bossy. If, however, the Chakra is overactive thus unbalanced a person may be unreasonable in their behaviour such as the Root Chakra responsible for security and strong foundation, an unbalance Root Chakra may cause a person to show fearlessness or without precaution attitude towards dangerous activities etc.

How to balance and unblock Chakras

The quickest way to detect an unbalanced and/or blocked Chakra or Chakras is through a Reiki Master. A Reiki Master is basically a Energy Body Physiotherapist! The Reiki Practitioner can assist with immediate effect. To find out more about Reiki please click here.

Other methods you can use at home are;

  1. Meditation

  2. Yoga (specific postures dedicated to the Chakra)

  3. Pranayama (Breath Work)

Thank you for reading

The Earth Healer

55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page